#jamtember2021 Track – One Hit Striker

I wanted to use some of the patching done yesterday for the ambient tracks to make some DnB… woohoo!

Practice Session first… there’s plenty of mistakes, offbeat content, and a few places that some of the sounds got a bit too wild… oops.

From here I did a few more takes and settled on the following take as the ‘final’ for this track.

For those who want a higher quality version of the audio for this final (probably) take you can get it at SoundCloud from below.

So what did I do to put all of this together?

Well… in particular I decided I would keep the patching and more or less the settings used to make the ambient pieces from yesterday the same. I did make a few tweaks to Pamela’s New Workout in order to change the rate of the sequence changes to suit my needs for the DnB pace so that I would use 8 settings instead of 2, because I was hitting reset so often that it only had time to play the two different settings. This was possibly fine, but I wanted to have it hang on the ambient sounds a bit longer. I also went through that bell sound, sped it up, and tried to get something that would just roll a bit faster through the mimeophon, which required a bit more feedback and changes to some of the Halo and Color settings.

On the MPC I loaded up a DnB drum kit, and decided to play out some drums and bass, and then I routed all of that into the Sqwk Dirty, and then into a Data Bender in order to get the bulk of the glitchiness and sound. I probably should have considered syncing the Data Bender to the clock, but it is kind of interesting while playing unsynced and hearing some of the tearing glitches.

All sounds from the MPC were routed out to the Eurorack, and everything was mixed in ST Mix, then sent back to the MPC inputs 1/2 with monitor turned on in order to output to my speakers/recorder.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.